A Grandmother’s Cornbread – generations later, still a favorite!

What is your favorite dish that your Grandmother made?  This is a question I ask everyone I meet.  Yesterday, we had the heating repairman checking out our heater (in anticipation of winter weather for the holiday).  So, I asked him the question…..he thought for a minute.  He said he loves his Grandmother’s cornbread.  I was intrigued!  What could be so special about a pan of cornbread?  The recipe is quite unusual, but oh, so DELICIOUS!  There is a secret ingredient…..  This cornbread is so good that I used it for my cornbread dressing this year.

1 cup cornmeal mix

2 eggs

3 heaping spoons of mayonnaise (secret ingredient) – be generous!

Buttermilk – enough to make is soupy

Yep, that’s it.  You heat your iron skillet with a little oil.  Bake at 450 for 18 minutes.  Not one single pan of this cornbread stuck to the pan.  It is moist and perfect every time.  Sometimes you find the best recipes in unexpected places.

3 Comments

Filed under Louisiana / Cajun

3 responses to “A Grandmother’s Cornbread – generations later, still a favorite!

  1. I can’t wait to try this cornbread recipe. It looks delicious. My mother’s cornbread was really good and I never got her recipe. I do know that she also pre-heated her cast-iron skillet. That makes the cornbread come out nice and brown and crisp. My grandmother made the most delicious oatmeal cookies. Here’s her recipe. http://gramsmadeit.blogspot.com/2010/11/grams-made-grannys-oatmeal-cookies.html

    • Patti Adley Bryan

      Thank you for your comment about Grandmother’s Cornbread and for sharing your Grandmother’s Oatmeal Cookie recipe – this recipe sounds delicious! I’ll have to try it soon. -Patti

    • Patti Adley Bryan

      One more thing….feel free to post your Grandmother’s Oatmeal Cookie recipe on my Passing a Good Time page and add your blog link too. It’s recipes that are passed through the generations, that are so special.

Leave a Reply

