Cold Oven Pound Cake

This recipe is over 100 years old.  Mamaw McGee share this recipe with me when I was in elementary school.  It’s the perfect hug from home.  Secret to this recipe – DO NOT PREHEAT YOUR OVEN.

1 cup oil

3 cups sugar

3 cups flour

1 cup buttermilk

6 eggs – add one at a time

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon lemon extract – I put more like a tablespoon – yum!

Mix your dry ingredients together, add oil and buttermilk.  Then add eggs, one at a time.  Last add your extracts.  This recipe makes a thin batter and should not be overmixed.  I only mix by hand.  Pour into a cold, greased and floured bundt pan.  Cook 300 degrees for 1 and 1/2 hours.  Cool in pan for exactly 10 minutes.  The delicious crunchy top is my favorite part!

7 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Dessert

7 responses to “Cold Oven Pound Cake

  1. kat102157

    This is VERY close to my Great Grandmother Davis’ recipe. The one big difference is she used (& SO DO I) almond flavoring instead of lemon. THEN make a simple lemon glaze to serve on top of each slice while it still warm. YUMMY!!

  2. Jack long

    Put it in a cold oven?

    • Patti Adley Bryan

      Hi Jack,
      It means you don’t pre-heat your oven. Turn the oven on after you put the cake inside.
      Thanks,
      -Patti B.

  3. Gabrielle

    I made this for work and everyone loved it! I had no leftovers 😦

    • pattiadleybryan

      Thank you! I rarely have leftovers with this cake too. It’s simple, but unique – I think it’s the lemon and the crust it makes. I love that crust!

  4. I made this recipe for Christmas Eve dessert. I added a little extra Lemon extract because I am a huge lemon fan. This is the best, mouthwatering cake I have ever made. AND…It is super easy to make. Which is good for me with two small kids, and alot of family to feed on Christmas. It feed all twenty of us, with some left over. I actually crave this cake quite often now, and I was never a huge cake person. Wonderful! A Must Try!

    • pattiadleybryan

      Kristie, I too add extra lemon to this cake – so delicious. I’m so glad you made it for your family-it may become a tradition like in the Bryan house. This recipe is over 100 years old! It also feezes well, but I’ve never have any extra to freeze – LOL Thank you for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply

