Cornbread Dressing – Grandmother’s Special Recipe

Every family has their own version of cornbread dressing and it’s usually the grandmother who makes the best.  I was very fortunate to have a wonderful mother-in-law who took the time to pass her secrets to me.  I hope you enjoy this recipe.  Cornbread dressing is so delicious and much easier to make than you would think.  This is how I make cornbread dressing.
How long you cook your dressing depends on how wet you like your dressing.  In our family we roast a fresh hen and add it to the dressing – not a turkey.
Saute 2 bunches green onions, 1 large yellow onion, celery as much as you like (at least 6 stalks), in 1 stick of butter.
Make 2 pans of cornbread – don’t add sugar to your cornbread recipe.
In a very large baking pan, crumble your cornbread, 4 pieces of toasted bread and 1/2 sleeve of Saltine crackers (crushed), add sautéed vegetables, add 6 raw eggs (to make it rise), 1 to 2 tablespoons poultry seasoning (careful, too much can make your dressing bitter), salt and pepper (remember, your broth and cornbread have salt and pepper in them so do this last after you taste). Then I add the meat from my hen to the bread mixture. Everything is in one pan – no bones!
Add enough hen/turkey broth to make it thick soupy (like baby food consistency)-approximately 3 – 4 cups. Use your broth from your roasted hen/turkey first, then canned/box or homemade broth. Bake – 350 – 400 degrees until brown around the edges and firm, but not dry. 30+ minutes.  Sometimes, if my hen isn’t very fat, I melt another stick of butter and pour into the dressing.
Note:  If you get your dressing too soupy, no big deal, you’ll just cook it longer.
2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Celebration, Entree, Holiday, Louisiana / Cajun

2 responses to “Cornbread Dressing – Grandmother’s Special Recipe

  1. Wonderful Cornbread Recipe……….It is like my mother’s —except my mother doesn’t use a hen. I used it Thanksgiving and Christmas!!! THANK YOU PATTI!!!!………………….You publish such wonderful recipes………..I know you are an excellent cook. …………….Rhonda

    • pattiadleybryan

      Thank you Rhonda! My mother-in-law taught me how to make cornbread dressing; she was a wonderful cook and patient teacher.

Leave a Reply

