Grandmother’s Chocolate Pie

chocolate pie

Who doesn’t remember their Grandmother’s chocolate pie?  No matter how many pies she would make, they would be eaten to the very last bite.

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons cocoa  (I lean toward more a milk chocolate than dark chocolate.)

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups milk  (1 can evaporated milk and add water to equal the 2 cups)

3 slightly beaten egg yolks (save the whites for the meringue)

2 tablespoons butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 – 9″ pie crust, baked

In a sauce pan combine sugar, flour, cocoa, and salt.  Stir in milk.  Cook and stir over medium heat until bubbly – cook for 2 more minutes.  Remove from heat.  Stir small amount of hot mixture into your egg yolks, immediately return to hot mixture – cook another 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat again and add butter and vanilla.  Pour into a baked pie crust.  Spread meringue on top of pie and bake at 350 degrees for 12 – 15 minutes.  Cool and enjoy!

11 Comments

Filed under Celebration, Dessert, Holiday, Pies

11 responses to “Grandmother’s Chocolate Pie

  1. My son loves chocolate pie. I recently made this recipe for his 40th birthday. DELICIOUS!!! I’m sure I’ll be making many more! Thanks, Patti!!

    Hint: I don’t like most pre-made pie crusts because I can taste lard. Yuck! I tried Marie Callendar’s refrigerated crust for this pie. It tasted almost like homemade crust. No lard taste!!

  2. Sheila

    Who takes your food pictures. Pie looks just like what my grandma use to make. Same recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  3. pattiadleybryan

    Thank you Rhonda for your comments. I’m wondering if the Karo you are thinking about is for a pecan pie recipe? Enjoy your chocolate pie today!

  4. My mother makes a wonderful choc.pie and this sounds like the recipe. Of course, I would have to go look it up since I haven’t made it in awhile. Seems like she adds karo to hers………but I might be getting that mixed up with her fudge recipe.
    Going to make this today! Thanks.

    • Rhonda Moore

      Patti,
      It is her fudge recipe that has karo syrup. It actually was Aunt Eva’s recipe (Cathy Rasberry Carter’s mom)….but we made it all the time — and I still do — guess my memory was failing when I was writing that regarding the choc. pie. Thanks. for all the recipes. Do they stay on this web-site always? Thanks. Rhonda 🙂

      • pattiadleybryan

        Rhonda,
        I would love to have your Aunt Eva’s fudge pie recipe; it sounds delicious! Yes, this is my food blog and it is updated all the time. Feel free to share the link with your friends. And please tell Cathy Rasberry Carter I said hello!

  5. Oh Baby~ Does this look YUMMY! Patti will you please come all the way to CT just to make one for me? I don’t think I could replicate this beautiful artistic delectable dessert.

  6. Cindy McGraw

    This chocolate pie looks delicious. I can’t wait to try it. Well, I guess I will have to wait…trying to lose a little weight. Jenny Craig does not have anything this good.

Leave a Reply

