Homemade Biscuits – Like Magic!

Biscuit_-_2_layersThere’s nothing that says home and LOVE like a hot homemade biscuit.  I like mine with apple wood smoked bacon and a little honey. 

I have made a lot of biscuits and this recipe is consistently delicious and very easy to make. During the holidays I share baskets of hot biscuits with my neighbors and they are usually waiting at the door when I arrive.

 1 stick butter

8 oz. sour cream

1 can 7-up or Sprite

4 c Pioneer Buttermilk Baking Mix

 Melt a stick of butter in sheet pan.  Mix other ingredients together in large bowl, but do not mix too much – just until wet.  Pour dough out onto a lightly dusted surface – dust the top of the biscuit dough with baking mix to make the dough more manageable .  Fold over the biscuit dough a few times till it becomes less wet, but you don’t need to knead this dough.  Cut with biscuit cutter (2”) or small juice glass dipped in flour. 

Put cut biscuits on sheet pan – close together – putting some of the melted butter on top of each biscuit. 

Bake at 425 degrees until golden brown.  Best biscuits ever!

biscuits

6 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast, Celebration, Holiday

6 responses to “Homemade Biscuits – Like Magic!

  1. Brooke

    I want these right now!! It’s pouring snow here, and all I want is for you to come wake me up with those great words that would come out of your mouth on weekend mornings, “Wake up Curly, breakfast is ready.” Mmmmm, music to my mouth and ears! Ha! Miss you!

    • pattiadleybryan

      Hey Curly, I miss you so much! This food blog was created for you when you first moved to Chicago and now you are in NYC. When you need a hug from home, just open this site and feel the love. 🙂 Mother

  2. Cindy Freeman McGraw

    Can not wait to try these out on the family. They sound scrumptious!!!

  3. Cindy

    A friend shared your blog with me, and I love it. As a person, that no matter how many times I try, I have never been able to make homemade biscuits ( My mother and grandmother would be ashamed). I will have to try this recipe now. My husband will laugh, when I say “I’m gonna try one more time”.
    These sound easy and delicious.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • pattiadleybryan

      Hello Cindy,
      You will be surprised – it’s so easy. No kneading or rising. Just mix, cut and bake.
      Let me know how they turn out.
      -Patti

    • pattiadleybryan

      Cindy – one little hint – the dough will be wet. So don’t be alarmed. Just sprinkle with some of the baking mix, pat it out, and cut.

Leave a Reply

