Back to School Boiled Shrimp

boiled shrimp in bowlBack to school brings back many memories – new clothes, hair cut, new shoes, and school supplies!  One of my fondest memories was walking home after school and my mother would have chilled, boiled (and peeled) shrimp in the refrigerator.  It’s the perfect snack before you start your homework.  Try Mark’s Cocktail Sauce , Zesty Cocktail Sauce, Remoulade Sauce, with these shrimp.
 
1 lb shrimp
2  1/2 quarts boiling water
1 small onion
1 lemon sliced with rind
Tabasco sauce
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Zatarain’s Shrimp Boil – according to package directions.
Cook until shrimp turn pink – approximately 6 -8 minutes.
 
3 lbs. Shrimp
8 quarts of boiling water
1 onion (cut in half)
1 lemon (cut in half)
1/4 teaspoon red pepper
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2/3 cup table salt

1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup Tabasco Sauce

1 or 2 bags shrimp and crab boil and/or Zatarain’s Liquid Shrimp Boil according to package directions.

Boil for 7 minutes and turn off heat and cover. Let shrimp soak in the seasonings for about 10 minutes so the shrimp really absorb the flavor. Remove shrimp, peel and chill.  Immediately after you remove the shrimp, you can boil corn, potatoes, and sausage if you are having a Cajun Shrimp Boil and guests.  If you are boiling a lot of shrimp and fixings, you may want to cook them outside.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Celebration, Dip / Spread / Sauce / Seasoning, Fish / Seafood, Holiday, Louisiana / Cajun, Summer

3 responses to “Back to School Boiled Shrimp

  1. Kathy

    I wish I had something wonderful to share about places for fresh seafood. My only source has been from friends returning from FL! I did recently hear on WKNO radio that fresh Gulf seafood is available at the Agricenter twice a week. Haven’t checked that out though.

  2. Kathy Looney

    Hello, Patti. Beth shared your blog with me and I have been sharing it with some of my foodie friends. The photos of your food are awesome and I know the flavors more than match that adjective. Curious to know where you buy your seafood?

    • pattiadleybryan

      Hello Kathy,
      Thank you for your kind words about my food blog. I think I was born a foodie! Please share the link – that’s the purpose of the blog.
      I order some of my seafood and andouille sausage from Louisiana – there are many great places in Lafayette and New Orleans – I order from their websites. Locally, I try to buy fresh seafood. I prefer Gulf Shrimp to any other coast because of the better flavor. For salmon, wild salmon is the healthiest. Locally in Memphis, I like to shop Whole Foods or Fresh Market for seafood. Crawfish from the gulf are bigger and tastier than the ones from China. I buy crawfish tails is 1 lb. packages from Schnucks. I have also found some really good shrimp and live crawfish at a couple of gas stations in Southaven and Olive Branch Mississippi – I’m sure you have seen the trucks there before. I’ve been told there are some fish markets in Memphis, but I have not had the opportunity to check them out. Do you have a favorite place to buy seafood in our area? I’m always open for ideas.
      Thanks,
      -Patti

Leave a Reply

